First time I’ve really felt…old…

Posted: July 5, 2013 in Uncategorized

So, this last week, I’ve been working with an 18yr old kid (ps, I’ll be turning 33 in a few months). Of course, since we’ve been working together, we’ve been bullshitting a lot, passing the time as we do our thing. Well, when I talk, I like to pepper my sentences with curse words. It provides a nice balance to my vocabulary, and makes my sentences sound more fucking mellifluous, if you know what I mean.

(mel·lif·lu·ous
/məˈliflo͞oəs/
Adjective
(of a voice or words) Sweet or musical; pleasant to hear.)

Anyway, I noticed through the course of our conversations that the kid never cursed when he talked. I started wondering if I was offending him or something, maybe he never curses, but he was to nice to tell me that it offended him. Finally, after a week of us working together, but only a day or two of me noticing that he never cursed, I broached the subject.
I told him I noticed he never cursed when we talked and asked if he ever cursed. He said “yeah, with my friends I curse al the time. I’m probably one of the worst with it….but…..

Wait for it

Wait for it

I never really curse in front of adults.”

Oh my god!?!? Me, an adult, holy shit!! Damn did that floor me, and make me feel really, really old.

Leave a comment